PlexTrac offers collaborative editing to save time and reduce errors when working on reports, narratives, and findings. The functionality exists when working in the following areas of the platform:
- In the Description, Recommendations, and References text boxes of the Findings Details tab of a finding
- In the Value text box in the Custom Fields tab of a finding
- In the text box of the Narrative tab for a report
- In the Description, Recommendations, and References text boxes of the Readout tab of a report
- In the Description, Recommendations, and References text boxes of a writeup in WriteupsDB
- In the section body text box in NarrativesDB
When editing one of the relevant fields listed above, an avatar is displayed at the top right of the content box.
The avatar will display the user's initials if no profile image exists, or the profile image if applicable. The user's full name is provided if hovered over by the curser. Up to six avatars are displayed in one content block.
When another user is editing on a page, their avatar will appear in the content block being edited.
When two or more users are editing the same field, an avatar for all users (up to six) will appear in the same content box to provide visibility that more than one person is editing the same field simultaneously.
A warning icon will notify of potential conflict, and it is recommended to avoid editing that field to avoid possible loss of content due to the time lag of autosave synchronization.
Messaging at the top right of the page where collaborative editing exists indicates when content was last saved.
On pages in which multiple content sections exist, autosave is per section (not page), and the time stamp will update dynamically at the top of the page when one of the collaborative editing content blocks is modified.
For example, in the scenario in which one user is updating the finding description at the same time another user is updating the finding recommendation, both updates will be saved, and the time stamp will represent the last edit on the page for one of those content fields.
If internet or VPN connection is lost, an error notification will appear to indicate connection has been lost.
The user will not be able to modify any of the applicable content sections tied to this feature until returning online.