Managing WriteupsDB
This page explains how to create, edit, and delete a WriteupsDB repository.

Getting Started

When using WriteupsDB for the first time, PlexTrac provides a container called "Default Repository" that contains any existing writeups.
Each repository card will identify the status of the repository (open, managed, private), how many writeups are contained within, and how many users have been added.
Repositories can only be created and not copied.

Viewing Writeups

Writeups for a specific repository can be viewed by clicking the repository card.
All writeups can be viewed by clicking the Writeups tab. This view provides information on the writeup ID, parent repository, writeup severity, source, any assigned tags, and option to edit, copy or delete the selected writeup.
To do a mass update of tags or delete of writeups, select all impacted writeups with the checkbox on the left of the writeup and click the Actions button for next steps.

Configuring Writeups View

The table view on the Writeups tab can be customized by clicking the column view icon to the right of the search bar:
Fields can be moved by dragging the bars up and down to change the sequence that they appear on the page.
The Title, Writeup ID and Actions columns must always exist, but the other columns can be removed. Click Save when finished.

Creating a WriteupsDB Repository

Step 1: Navigate to the Content Library menu option and select WriteupsDB.
Step 2: Click New Repository.
Step 3: Fill out the required information (marked by an asterisk), add an optional description, select the desired security access for the repository, and click Create.

Managing Repository Settings

Users with permissions will see a Users & Permissions button at the top of the page, indicating permission to manage repository settings. Repository settings can be updated at any time by clicking Repository Settings at the top of the page.

Deleting a Repository

This action will delete the repository and all writeups within it permanently for all users.
A repository can be deleted two different ways:
  1. 1.
    Click the three dots in the repository card.
2. Click the repository, go to Repository Settings at the top of the page, and when the modal appears, click the Delete Repository button found at the bottom of the modal.
A warning message will appear asking for validation. Click Delete Repository to continue.
Click Next below to learn about managing users in WriteupsDB.